PDA

View Full Version : displacement maps in mental ray


mlw
06-24-2010, 10:30 PM
Hi!

I'm having problems using mental ray to render displacement maps applied to polys. The displacement maps are attached to grayscale .jpg files that I am creating in PS.

Is there a step that I'm missing to get them to render in mental ray and not just in software?

Thank you for your help!

MindedVague
06-24-2010, 10:48 PM
i don't know if u know that or not ... select the mesh
windows>rendering editor>mental ray > approximation editor > create for poly
filter spatial min 4 max 5 length 0.01 or higher
for the disp file > color balance > alpha gain 1 = alpha offset -0.5
that may help
if the result is over reduce or increase alpha g and offset

Eshta
06-28-2010, 03:06 PM
can you post an image of your render

mlw
06-30-2010, 03:02 PM
here are stills of my render... http://christo.irc.umbc.edu:16080/nasa/meganNasa/cgforum/testrender_displacement1.jpg , http://christo.irc.umbc.edu:16080/nasa/meganNasa/cgforum/testrender_displacement2.jpg , http://christo.irc.umbc.edu:16080/nasa/meganNasa/cgforum/testrender_displacement3.jpg , http://christo.irc.umbc.edu:16080/nasa/meganNasa/cgforum/testrender_displacement4.jpg . i did use the approximation editor but i still feel like the ground could look higher-res? i used subdivisions bc the displacement tesselation wasn't looking right. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

C0rpus
07-02-2010, 08:26 AM
You cannot use the jpeg format for displacement maps, and in fact shouldn't even use jpegs as at all because they are a lossy compression format. Without getting too technical, a jpeg can't hold enough value range (8 bit) to use for displacement. You need to use a 16 bit format like TIF, or ideally a 32 bit format like an EXR.

CGTalk Moderation
07-02-2010, 08:26 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.