PDA

View Full Version : Masking Q


jsells20
06-23-2010, 05:19 PM
I am trying to figure out how to integrate the mask element for the stairs. As you can see the third ball is under the stair and I have the mask ready but unsure where to plug it in. I have provided the script and image for reference.

Thanks everyone.

ChristopherP
06-23-2010, 05:43 PM
if you add another Copy-node (after that over below Copy2) to copy the red from the mask into the alpha and a Premult after that...that should do the trick.

hope that's what you meant :)


cheers
c.

jsells20
06-23-2010, 05:55 PM
Would you mind seeing what I did wrong. Attached is a screen cap.

ChristopherP
06-23-2010, 06:02 PM
switch the inputs on Copy1 :)
what exactly are doing with Copy2? just curious...


c.

jsells20
06-23-2010, 06:06 PM
Here's a grab for copy2.

jsells20
06-23-2010, 06:22 PM
Fixed it. Thanks.

jsells20
07-01-2010, 11:03 PM
I am now trying to find out how to use the edge blur on intersecting masks. I tried to split up the mask in red and green channel, but its still sharp at the intersection. Now if it's 1 mask element with shuffled red and green it sort of works but as you can see in the second image it's picking up the background when blurred.

Please help someone.
--J

jsells20
07-02-2010, 08:14 PM
---------FIX

Anyone interested. The fix was to change the plus to "mask" after the shuffle. Next change the edge mult setting in edge blur to 10.

CGTalk Moderation
07-02-2010, 08:14 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.