PDA

View Full Version : background shader


chandro
06-20-2010, 04:12 PM
is there any alternative shader for use background shader?

psilo
06-20-2010, 05:18 PM
why don t you want to use background shader? what are you trying to do?

chandro
06-20-2010, 05:48 PM
i tried using use background shader to generate shadow in compositing which i end up fixing it in photoshop. just maybe theres a better shader in mental ray (same function) that will catch the shadow much accurately. (its been years)

psilo
06-20-2010, 06:05 PM
maybe take a look at the production shaders http://mentalraytips.blogspot.com/2007/10/production-shaders-hidden-treasures-of.html

chandro
06-20-2010, 06:15 PM
yes, ive use mip matteshadow before (alien in the computer and tribe guy in the bathroom) and still causing some issue (probably im not really in to rendering tech)
though i was thinking maybe theres a ready script nowadays.its been almost a year i havent touch maya.

Thanks



(http://www.djx.com.au/blog/2008/04/08/mip_matteshadow-and-how-i-have-used-it/)

psilo
06-20-2010, 06:29 PM
if you got problem with either usebackground and also the production shader , maybe it s more a problem in your workflow.
Can you show some pic to better understand your problem?

chandro
06-21-2010, 02:49 AM
Thanks, Psilo
yes your right im having problem wiith the workflow.Im not yet starting with my project just preparing the necessary shaders needed before i begin. ill try that shader again.

Eshta
06-21-2010, 08:23 PM
did you see this

http://www.pixelcg.com/blog/?p=593

CGTalk Moderation
06-21-2010, 08:23 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.