PDA

View Full Version : Compositing techniques

wilsonhaze
06-12-2010, 12:57 AM
Hi everyone,
I'm a growing 3d/vfx artist, I currently have this urgent task of inserting a live footage of a character into a 3d environment i created in 3ds max. (Image included)

The problem I'm facing is adding a realistic shadow beneath the character, because there are times the character moves back and front (z axis) and if i should use a duplicated perspective of the live footage to achieve a shadow it appears to float when the character moves either back or front, the technique only works when the character moves left and right (x & y axis) .

I haven't started the color correction yet (i have some fair knowledge about it), but i wouldn't mind getting advice on how to color correct for this scene so it can match the scene as closely as possible.

Mylenium
06-12-2010, 07:23 AM
I'm not sure I see your problem. If she moves back and forth, you can still use a duplicate and tilt it into perspective using corner pin or whatever, you just may need to pre-compose it to a suitably sized comp to cover the entire area. The rest - well, a simple color correction isn't gonna save the 3D. It looks flat and the textures' relative sizes do not match the size of the talent. I'd seriously consider using a less plastic-y look...

Mylenium

Reysal
06-12-2010, 05:37 PM
Hey !
I agree with Mylenium, you should consider working a little more on the 3D. First, your perspective between the live action and the 3D plate isn't matching.
Then, your textures deserve a touch of work, also it's the first time in my life I've seen lit lights that look turned of. So add glow and exposure.
You've got these huge green godrays and they don't interact with the rest of the scene, what a shame.
Here's a nice tutorial about shadows : http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/3d_shadows/
Oh, and as the light source behind the woman is pretty intense, consider light wraps in compositing. Good luck !