PDA

View Full Version : Super ugly physical sun and sky renders. What am I missing here?

Freshfromthegrave
06-10-2010, 09:09 AM
Hey guys, I'm having some major trouble with getting good renders out of mental ray. I'm using the physical sun and sky nodes that come with mental ray (maya 8.5) and I've learnt a bit about the whole linear workflow thing. So of course my renders come out desaturated if I don't gamma correct my textures, the thing is when I do the gamma correction stuff the renders look even uglier than before and I can't quite figure out why. The shadows looks quite dark in places and everything looks very flat. It's almost as though mental is not bouncing any light but both final gather and global illumination are turned on (although I haven't turned on any photons since that seems to throw render times through the roof). I'm quite new to mental ray and coming from VRay (which I know very well) mental ray seems quite confusing to me...

Here's one of the ugly renders that come out of my current set up: http://picasaweb.google.com/109667798028322185874/CGTalkPosts#5481070297393815218

I hope you guys can see that, let me know if you can't. What am I missing here? :surprised

TaKIKO
06-10-2010, 02:09 PM
Do you have the lens shader on?

Freshfromthegrave
06-10-2010, 03:02 PM
hey takiko, yeah i do it's using the mia_simple_exposure lens shader with gamma set to 2.2 (it's all default), i did my gamma correction on the color textures only.

visua
06-10-2010, 03:22 PM
U are using GI but not shooting any photons, that's sort of contradictory is it not? ;)
Turn of GI, and use FG only instead, and change your diffuse bounces to 2 or more...

//NIC

Freshfromthegrave
06-10-2010, 03:53 PM