PDA

View Full Version : Reel advice

AignerCG
06-09-2010, 02:15 PM
Hope I'm in the right forum, this doesn't really fit anywhere...
I am a 3d hobbyist and could use some advice. I am putting together a reel with most of my work in it. I intend to include a link on my CV. I don't intend to apply for any specific jobs as animator for example, I will mostly be applying for advertising and marketing jobs, but want to include a link to the reel to show creativity.
Most of the stuff I have done is character setup and animation, but I also have some stills, a turntable for a non-animated character and some motion graphics.
First of all, is there even a point in making a reel that is so general, or would it be wiser to make a 'character setup and animation reel'. Thing is, I also did the modelling, texturing, rendering ect.
Second, what do I call it? Generalist reel?

Also, would it be realistic of me to apply to actual media/3d production studios with this material and considering I have only done 3d as a hobby?

Here's my reel so far: http://www.vimeo.com/12424987

Thanks,

Philip

dpumpa
06-10-2010, 06:29 AM
I don't have too much experience with reel types, but whenever we mention the term "generalist" in school we get slapped on the wrist. Every single one of us had to pick a focus and a sister skill, but only our focus made it into the demo reel. I'm not saying that there aren't "generalist" positions out there or that generalists can't succeed, but I've always heard that you should be amazing at one thing rather then a jack of all trades. Of the reels I have seen they've either called themselves a "3D Generalist" or a "3D Artist."

You have enough animation in there to create an animation demo reel so I would give that a shot. You have a great sense of timing and squash and stretch.