PDA

View Full Version : Motion Blur Pass with Fusion?


naik
06-03-2010, 03:51 PM
Hey guys,

does anyone of you have experience with Mayas new built
in 2d/3D Motion Vector pass?

Im trying to render that out in order to use that with Fusions
Vector Blur Node, but it doesnt work.

Also im not sure if the Motion Vector Pass from Maya is right...

Any help ?

cheers

Naik

kiryha
06-04-2010, 07:23 AM
How do you render motion vectors?
In fusion u can use "reel smart motion blur3 vector" or build in "vector motion blur"
Show how vector pass looks in fusion(plug motionX,Y,Z chennals to R,G,B)

naik
06-04-2010, 09:54 PM
okay its working now - and im impressed how easy it is at the end.

You just have to render the 2D motion Pass in maya.
Set the Frambuffer to 32Bit RGBA
and disable motion blur of course. ( Tiff - EXR )

Then you can easily plug that pass into the Motion Vector node in Fusion.
Looks good so far - and in my view it looks better than in Toxik ( Maya Composite )

Also you have to check the "normalized button" in Fusion in order to see the
"real" Motion vector colors...

Hope that helps other users.

cheers

naik

royterr
06-04-2010, 10:01 PM
okay its working now - and im impressed how easy it is at the end.

You just have to render the 2D motion Pass in maya.
Set the Frambuffer to 32Bit RGBA
and disable motion blur of course. ( Tiff - EXR )

Then you can easily plug that pass into the Motion Vector node in Fusion.
Looks good so far - and in my view it looks better than in Toxik ( Maya Composite )

Also you have to check the "normalized button" in Fusion in order to see the
"real" Motion vector colors...

Hope that helps other users.

cheers

naik

is the results convincing?
i always use 3d motion blur because its more accurate but render times goes crazy.

naik
06-04-2010, 11:11 PM
is the results convincing?

It always depends mate.
I must admit, i'm pimping the motion vector pass in post
sometimes with a rapid motion blur pass which is much faster than
the "real" 3D motion blur.

I'm doing some rims animation and i can get some cool effects in compositing
after doing some tweaking.

But as i have mentioned before, it always depends what kind of motion blur
you looking after...


p.s of course you are right - 3D Motion Blur - is definately more accurate.
But sometimes, you dont need it...

CGTalk Moderation
06-04-2010, 11:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.