PDA

View Full Version : 'big time' VFX schools (GNOMON)....worth it?

Jonathanrod928
06-02-2010, 12:51 AM
Hey guys im sure we've all heard this one before, but i just wanna get some fresh feedback from working and/or knowledgeable people in the industry.

Im an artist in AZ that wants to learn vfx. It has been my dream and passion since I was young, but dont know where to start. I have researched schools that can teach vfx, and narrowed it down to a couple. At the top of my list: Gnomon in LA (Theres others i know but i really liked this one in particular cuz of the location and connections) The facilities and the teachers are probably the best this industry has, and no joke, the reels coming out of there are INSANE. :eek:

I want to go to Gnomon, but... (and heres my dilemma)
estimated tuition cost: around 50k for 2 yrs. (80k for the 3 yr program!! :O

So what i want to know, is

IS IT WORTH THE MONEY TO HAVE A GOOD EDUCATION IN THIS INDUSTRY (AKA: AM I COMPLETELY CRAZY TO GO TO A SCHOOL THIS EXPENSIVE BEING A MIDDLE-CLASS GUY.)

The reason i ask, is cuz i wouldn't have a problem taking out a loan to pay school off if i knew itd pay back the same way (idealy speaking ofcourse).

Any thoughts? ideas? suggestions? ANYTHING?

(no lame comments either pleaaase haha this is a honest question)

thanks.

MrConterno
06-03-2010, 01:55 AM
I'm not qualified enough to answer this one.

there you go :)

Jonathanrod928
06-03-2010, 08:30 AM
maybe a little too direct i guess... just lookin for the 'average' lol my bad. if not here then where else you know? i took it off

Zerflag
06-03-2010, 09:39 AM
would you be working while going to school?

you have to take in to account that cost you listed is only tuition. then you have cost of living, which is significantly higher in los angeles than it is in phoenix. loans taken out for that too. loans for course materials, loans for software, loans loans loans.

probably you'd be looking at more like 70k for 2 years.