PDA

View Full Version : What color profile to use?

SpAiK
05-31-2010, 07:34 AM
Hello, I have always used standar color profile. Most of the time no color profile was choosen in the color management of Windows, sRGB used in Photoshop. But my lcd screen comes with an own color profile, and I have always asked myself if I should use it in Windows and compositing softwares or use sRGB. What do you think?

beaker
06-01-2010, 05:04 AM
I would use some type of densitometer calibration device for your monitor, like an X-Rite, Spyder, etc... They cost in the US$50-200 range.

SpAiK
06-01-2010, 06:04 AM
Sorry, but I'm not actually interested in buying a calibrating device as I'm not a cg pro.

sundialsvc4
06-04-2010, 11:25 AM
If your monitor comes with a color profile, then it would be much better to use it than any default (or, none at all).

You have to work with an objective standard if you're doing film, print, or video work because your eyes are so gosh-darned adaptable. You can walk into the most awful cheap convenience-store, filled with ugly green fluorescent light, look at a white sheet of paper and see "white." You never really know what you're looking at ... or what the people who look at your work will be looking at ... unless you use some objective profile.

SpAiK
06-04-2010, 11:55 AM
The thing is if I use monitors own profile, I will work based on that, but the rest of the world that normally use sRGB won't see the same that I see. So it's better to use own profile and save images and videos in that or in sRGB, or use sRGB from the begining?

sundialsvc4
06-04-2010, 05:38 PM
You obviously can't control what happens on the end-user's playback equipment.

What you want, though, is for your work-product to have predictable color values, as free as possible from any visual bias that may have been (unintentionally...) induced by your personal equipment at design-time.