PDA

View Full Version : linked instances problem


agedito
09-16-2003, 02:06 PM
Anyone knows how to solve the following problem I'm having with instances and MaxScript?.

I have two objects A and B, the first one ( A ) it's parented to the second one, but when I instance both objects as Cand D the object D it's parented to A instead to his real father C.
If I do the same by myself instead though MaxScript it works perfectly, any help?.

Thank you very much in advance.

LFShade
09-16-2003, 07:20 PM
This is actually the behavior I would expect. You'll want to explicitly parent D to C by setting $D.parent=$C, that should give you the result you want.

RH

agedito
09-17-2003, 07:59 AM
Thanks LFShade

I'd put that easy example to tell you problem. But... the real problem is this..

I have a character studio biped, this biped is parented to a dummy.

How I can instance the dummy (and the biped) in a easy way?

Thanks in advance

LFShade
09-17-2003, 09:07 AM
I haven't ever looked into CS, so I'm not sure. I think it would be a lot more complicated, though, since cloning an entire heirarchy (especially a character rig) can get tricky. Sorry, someone with more CS knowledge may have the answer:shrug:

RH

agedito
09-17-2003, 09:36 AM
Thanks anyway LFShade :)

I make a script than instance automatically a hierarchy :)

It runs perfectly with geometry :) but with bipeds MAX crash :scream:

I'm goint to post a new thread asking for bipeds instances

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.