PDA

View Full Version : flock animation/crowd simulation

misterwolfy
05-21-2010, 02:40 AM
Can anyone pint to a good primer on Maya flock animation or crowd simulation tools or techniques?

What is the most popular plugin, tool, or technique to use with Maya?

Thanks for reading.

Irakli
05-21-2010, 09:32 AM
Depends what type of crowd is? You can use "particle instances" or brain bugs plugin. There are other plugins/software for crowd simulations like Massive or Ai implant but those apps are expensive.

misterwolfy
05-21-2010, 09:44 AM
Specifically for this project it is a flock of birds. But they need to land on a wire. Like 100 or so.

Irakli
05-21-2010, 10:56 AM
I don't cnow if you have axces to Massive but this app will be perfect for you.
I'm not an expert in crowd sims but if you don't have Massive then you should use particle instances using MEL and expressions.

misterwolfy
05-21-2010, 03:36 PM
Thanks! Don't have access to massive yet, but looks awesome. Also looking at endorphin.

bendingiscool
05-21-2010, 05:17 PM
Endorphin will only help in the blending of animation from birds flying to them landing, it is not made for crowd behaviour.

Depending on the shots you need to produce it might be easier to create the flock of birds using particle instancing. I have the link of handy tutorial for this which I will upload when I find it, though it's a dead easy process, animate a bird flapping its wings/or use an expression, then instance on to particles, have them go after a moving goal.

The landing seems trickier, depends on how many need to land, etc, possibly animating a couple of landings by hand, caching the geo out re importing in various positions/offset times.

cheers,
Chris

Irakli
05-21-2010, 06:29 PM
Thbendingiscool ,upload it please.