PDA

View Full Version : Reflections? (noob question)


Teknoholic
05-24-2002, 05:47 PM
Okay this must sound dumb, but how do you create reflective materials in 3dstudio? It's not in the tutorials as far as I can tell and none of the obvious things like Reflection/Refraction or Raytrace Maps are doing anything... A quick 2-sentence walkthru would help me out a ton. Thanks

Teknoholic

visualboo
05-24-2002, 06:51 PM
What renderer are you using? Scanline?

Just place a raytrace material in the reflection slot :)

Teknoholic
05-25-2002, 06:34 PM
I'm ususng the default renderer, whatever that is. I tried putting a reytrace in the reflections slot, but nothing is being reflected. What should I put the settings to to get it to reflect. I'm trying to get a mirror look

Joel Hooks
05-25-2002, 07:28 PM
Keep in mind there needs to be something to reflect in the scene.

Niel Blevins (http://www.neilblevins.com/cg_education/cg_education.htm)

Check this out. Probably one of the best Max texture resources anywhere. He goes into reflections a lot.

Teknoholic
05-26-2002, 12:28 AM
Cool! Thanks!

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.