PDA

View Full Version : Help a beginner! Script to Isolate Select Object

davidkenley
05-17-2010, 07:57 PM
I'm looking for help with a writing a basic MEL script. I'm really new to it so I'm totally lost although I do have experience in C#.

I built a simple MEL script that copies the function of the Isolate Select menu option (as I'd rather have a button instead of navigating the menus).

However, I want to improve it by making a version where if I have a face, edge or vertex on an objected selected when the isolate select button is pushed, it won't isolate everything except the selected face, edge or vertex, it will isolate the whole object from the rest of the scene.

So my question is, is there a way to query the selection and return the object (eg pCube1), instead of the string with the face for example (pCube1.f[4]). Or is the way to proceed to parse the returned string down to the object and proceed from there?

This is my code so far (just replicating the isolate select function as is from the menu)...

string $isPanel;
$isPanel = `getPanel -wf`;
isolateSelect -s (1-`isolateSelect -q -s $isPanel`) $isPanel;
isolateSelect -as $isPanel;

Thanks.

splinta
05-18-2010, 09:24 AM
Hi

I recently found out that this:

ls -sl -o -dag -s;

will select the shape node no matter what u have selected. then u can just pick walk up to the objects transform node with

pickWalk -d up;

splinta
05-18-2010, 09:25 AM
Hi

I recently found out that this:

ls -sl -o -dag -s;

will select the shape node no matter what u have selected. then u can just pick walk up to the objects transform node with

pickWalk -d up;
how this helps

jonne
05-18-2010, 11:22 AM
I usually do stuff in python so my approach in mel might not be the best but this should work:

string $sel[] = `ls -sl`;
string $tempArray[];
$tempArray = stringToStringArray($sel[0], ".");
select $tempArray[0];

rahulsg2901
05-18-2010, 03:26 PM