PDA

View Full Version : things that a beginner must do on his/her path to becoming a lighting artist??

whateva
05-16-2010, 05:50 PM
uhh kinda ashamed to show this :blush: ..but i'm a beginner and this was kinda my second try of lighting without GI?
not any good..i'm actually confused how to start and how to get better?
what can i do to improve my skills in lighting?

jeb
05-16-2010, 11:46 PM
Its not terrible, could use some work but i see mostly you need to plan what look oyu want to get and then see what tools can achieve it or fake it.

i recommend you get a hold of a nice camera (even borrow it for a while if you can) that lets you handle depth of field focus, exposure, film speed, fstop so you can test and learn what happends in a picture and when. photography is a must know tool for someone interesting in creating images. even if you dont want to be photorealistic all the bases about light , shadow, reflecion apply to most cases.

draw some nature, its easy to just grab a pencil and paper and start seeing the world and analyzing it. even if you dont draw much , when you set yourself to finish a drawing you learn a lot.

search for reference always. there is always a picture around that shows something similar to what you try to achieve, so learn from others but dont copy.

as for the actual technology of cg lighting..

its cool that you are trying to learn lighting without gi or final gather. thats a goo move from your part to try to understand why stuff works and how.

dont know if you are using max or maya but doesnt matter. here are some nice tuts for max but the theory applies to all

http://www.cgarchitect.com/resources/default.asp

also this read is a must.

http://www.itchy-animation.co.uk/light.htm

as for personal experience advise.