PDA

View Full Version : muscle rigging - creating "flat" muscles

woadiestyol
05-16-2010, 05:52 PM
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to using muscle systems...so far I've been able to get good results with simple muscles that have 'tapered' heads: biceps, femoris, etc.

Where I'm struggling is with muscles like the pecs and deltoids, where the origin of the muscle is a broad, flat area. The muscle does not seem to want to have those CVs stretched out over a broad area...it spins around a bunch, and I can't really 'pin' it down. Does anyone have tips or a general approach for these types of muscles?

Also, just in general...I'm curious to hear about any success stories with Maya muscles. It seems like it takes *forever* to create every muscle, shape it properly, create the squash shape, the stretch shape, then paint the weights for it, etc. Especially on an area like the shoulder, where you've actually got 3 main muscles working together and you have to balance the weights between all the different muscle objects. I haven't really had much success making these things behave like I want so far...but maybe I'm just giving up on it too quickly :)

Any other thoughts on muscles always welcome! Thanks all. :buttrock:

nemeru
05-29-2010, 09:13 AM
Hey, im new to muscles too, in fact im just now researching into them, so i might or might not help, but...
every time i see a muscle rig, it has the deltoid as it is in the body - several simple round muscles. same goes for pecs. look at this for instance:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOj_ALAHk3c&NR=1
or this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0akFtKiayo&NR=1