PDA

View Full Version : Best College

entrancea
05-14-2010, 03:45 AM
Hey Everyone....Now I know you guys must receive this question a lot but as an International Student I am trying to find an answer and so am asking around....and that question is how do you all see Academy of Arts University as a VFX teaching University? Is the MFA course really helpful(specially for an international student?)

Pardon me if I sound a bit vague....

But Thanks ya'll, :)
Take care,
Regards,
-Entrancea

MrConterno
05-18-2010, 10:21 AM
Personally I didn't care for what I saw when I looked into them. Excessive advertising really puts a bad taste in my mouth.

In addition when I submitted the form for more information their call back people called me, asked what program I was interested in, told me they are transferring me to an adviser, put me on hold for about 5mins, then told me an adviser wasn't available! Why the hell did you call me if they are busy! Also you could hear at least 15 other people in the background making calls. Just gives me that mass production feel, and this really isn't some thing you can mass produce.

I really wasn't impressed with the demo reels I saw either. Some of the stuff I saw reminded me of playing my N64 back in the 90s lol.

smalone3d
05-18-2010, 08:33 PM
Hey Everyone....Now I know you guys must receive this question a lot but as an International Student I am trying to find an answer and so am asking around....and that question is how do you all see Academy of Arts University as a VFX teaching University? Is the MFA course really helpful(specially for an international student?)

Take care,
Regards,
-Entrancea

I've heard some good and bad things about that school.

As a nice rule of thumb, I'd like to stick to the IPAX member school list: