PDA

View Full Version : Align/Follow control

joewhammy
05-14-2010, 03:19 AM
hey guys I'm new to rigging and I cant seem to find this anywhere. I've tried searching this forum and googling but I think I just dont know how to phrase what I'm looking for.

I basically want to learn how to add a control that keeps my characters head aligned/facing forward after I rotate other parts of his body. This seems to be fairly standard on most of the rigs I've used in the past.

Thanks in advance

Dustin
05-14-2010, 04:20 AM
Usually in a case like this, you have a main control that allows you to move and rotate the entire character. So assuming that is the case for your rig, this is pretty simple. rather than parent constraining the head to the neck, point constrain the head to the neck, so it moves properly. Then, orient constrain the head to the main control, so the head gets no rotation from the neck.

It's not a bad idea to orient constrain the head to the main control AND the neck, and then have a channel on the head control that will allow you to switch the head orientation (using SDK's to drive the two weight values in the orient constraint).

jipe
05-14-2010, 04:28 AM
Not a rigger so I'm sure others can provide better answers, but the simplest solution would probably be to look at a point constraint (or a parent constraint with only the translate axes checked in the options box -- the behavior is slightly different). That will get the head to inherit translations but not rotations. Of course, it gets trickier if you want an option to switch between different parent spaces, and then if you want to match the positions without having the head jump around, but that's some real rigger stuff that others may be able to help with :P

[Edit: beaten to the punch by Dustin, and with a better explanation, too!]

joewhammy
05-15-2010, 03:17 AM
Thanks for the quick response guys. going to give that a shot Dustin.
I just grabbed your RapidRig script. Totally awesome dude.
:bowdown: