PDA

View Full Version : Maya to Zbrush and UV's?

newbzy
05-13-2010, 11:20 PM
Hey guys Im a student and creating a character for my final year film.

I am having a bit of a problem which I cant work out due to not fully understanding a decent workflow.
So I have created the model in Maya and it is about 30, 000 polies. Im not sure if this is too much for a short animation film but I think it is a bit big. So what I am going to do is import the character into zbrush to add some more detail, create a normal map, export both of these back into maya, retopologize the character so that the mesh isent so high polly, and then add the normal map.

My big question is, when should I do the UV's?
I was thinking of doing them before I take the model into zbrush, so that the normal map had something to go off (this is how I think it all works? haha) but then when I come to retopologize the model in maya all my UV's will go out the window, or will they?

Really dont know what to do here, let me know what you think?

Thanks in advanced
Nubry

PandorasKeyboard
07-13-2010, 12:10 AM
Hi Nurby,
30K is a little high but not overkill, hopefully your topology is good which helps you create a good sculpt in zbrush.

The general type of workflow for this kind of thing is to take what you've made in maya and sculpt it up in zbrush, re-topolagise then unwrap then texture and export all to maya, inc normal or displacement map. Depending on how good your original topology is would tell you when to re-topolagize though, you may begin sculpting away in zbrush and run out of detail and need to re-topolagize to carry on sculpting.

Anyway when you're ready to re-top you could do this in zbrush but personally I find re-topology in zbrush very tidious and prefer 3D Coat. Re-topology does throw your UVs out the window like you thought so it would be a good idea to unwrap your model once modelling is complete, or near complete.