PDA

View Full Version : MacPro1,1 (2006) upgrades

Reed5point0
05-13-2010, 02:02 PM
Hello seeing as Apple is waiting on the delivery of my first born for this computer I (Sally Mae) purchased when I graduated school...I doubt I can afford a brand new workstation flat out just yet lol. I have decided to slowly build this beast up.

My current system specs are...
Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 10 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10

Chipset Model: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 512 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x009d
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: 3008

Displays are an older Apple Cinema 23" and a somewhat cheap Acer 22" ...but hes kinda nice.

The Quadro FX 4500 never really wow'd me, and then yesterday it slapped me in the face. Portal for the Mac wont even load ..."Card Unsupported". Further research showed me its because the 32bit EFI on the 1,1 MacPros.

However the new Radeon HD 4870 for Mac works for the old Macs b/c it has both 32 and 64 EFI...

This would solve my video game issue but thats only icing on the cake...

Is this a good card to buy for 3d and Compositing? If not I can live without those games and just stick to the ones I have that work.

olson
05-13-2010, 02:42 PM
I think you'd be better off to build a separate gaming system rather than invest anything else in an antiquated Apple system. Especially if your motivation is playing games, because frankly there aren't a lot of games for OS X. I know Steam has a Mac client now but that doesn't mean publishers will have OS X versions of their games.

Likely a gaming system today for $500 would be faster than your existing Mac. Then you would have both systems to work with, and a cheap KVM to switch between them. Cheers!