PDA

View Full Version : is there tutorials about how to make autorig using python or mel?

drawone
05-11-2010, 08:56 PM
Hello,
i am not really good at rigging and scripting but just trying make an autorig for a project that i am working on and learn more about them. I have been watching some tutorials about rigging and scripting, and i was wondering if there is any tutorial that can give me some ideas or concepts of how to make an autorig. Is there any dvd or books about it?

thanks

Darksuit
05-11-2010, 09:32 PM
first thing I would honestly tell you is learn to do at least the basics for Rigging. You will need to understand that much to begin to write an auto rig script.

There are some auto rig scripts already out there. But if you are wanting to just write a script so that you don't have to deal with it, you might want to go take a look at the stuff that is already out there.

For instance if you go to Highend 3D you can look up Advanced Skeleton, which seems to be one of the forum favorites at the moment. There are others, I'd just encourage you to play around with some and see what you like and don't like.

In the end learning the process and knowing it will only help you out in the long run.

blackseraphim
05-12-2010, 04:11 AM
learn first how to rig to know the steps/procedures you needed in your program. Your auto rig will depend on the rig you are trying to achieve. without the knowledge of rigging, it will be hard to know which comes first.

tonytouch
05-12-2010, 09:59 AM
2 Book_Tips:
"cgToolkit Volume 1"
"MEL Scripting A Character Rig In Maya"

2 DVD_Tip:
3DBuzz - Mastering Maya: Developing Modular Rigging Systems with Python
Quadruped Animation Friendly Rigging: Procedural Rigging ( part3 of the quadruped-series )
--------
for the 3dbuzz-DVD , in order to follow ... i think you will need some basic/intermediate python and rigging knowledge .

Polimeno
05-12-2010, 03:50 PM
what about 3Dbuzz :

http://www.3dbuzz.com/xcart/product.php?productid=83