PDA

View Full Version : Foundations of Drawing/3d

steveskittles
05-09-2010, 12:10 AM
Hey guys i been working in 3d for a while now and im basically still a complete novice. I do enjoy working with 3d but when i try anything of any significant difficulty i quickly become lost and confused. I never really thought of it before but i think it might have something to do with me having basically no knowledge of form and topology. One of the main reasons i wanted to get into 3d was to create things that i imagine in my head, i thought 3d would be more suited to me as i am no good at drawing.

But now im thinking this could be one of the vital components of becoming better with 3d. My mind struggles to project 3d images on a piece of paper and i always thought it would be easier working within a 3d environment to construct my scenes and objects. Do you guys think i should consider studying the foundations and principles of drawing before i try to tackle any new projects? Also i anyone has links or suggestions to beginner drawing content that would be great.

Lunatique
05-10-2010, 12:46 PM
Regardless if you learn to draw or not, you MUST learn the foundations, because one of the biggest misconceptions that struggling 3D artists have is that they don't realize 3D is still visual art, and all visual art share the same foundations--from drawing, painting, design, photography, 3D, to whatever.

The reason why many people say learning to draw/paint will greatly help your 3D is because in 3D, nothing forces you to learn the foundations of visual art, and you are in fact knee deep in learning all the technical aspects of operating a 3D software. But in 2D, if you don't learn the foundations, you can barely draw or paint anything--so you are forced to learn the foundations.