PDA

View Full Version : Miguel Santana - Generalist Reel 2010

silentalibi
05-08-2010, 09:53 PM
Hey everyone, this is my first post, even though I've been lurking for years.

I'm a student of VFX at the University of Hertfordshire in the UK, and have just about finished my first year of study.

I thought I'd post my reel on here and see what you all have to say in terms of content quality etc.

Kanga
05-08-2010, 10:20 PM
I don't see the link please provide one in your post.

silentalibi
05-08-2010, 10:29 PM
Oops, it appeared in the Preview Post, I guess I still need to figure out some bits and bobs for this forum.

http://www.vimeo.com/11371187

Kanga
05-09-2010, 12:41 AM
I wouldnt open with the toy thing, I think you have better models in the reel. The digital painting flicks by a bit quick. The vfx thing is nice except there is only one scene. I wouldnt do that zoomy stuff with the text blocks, looks a little dated. The photography and film thing is nice but I am not sure where it fits in to the package. The warehouse model looks pretty good.

embryotic
05-25-2010, 03:40 AM
I watched you reel and I was really stoked with it, as you should be too ;)

I tried looking at the toy comparison, of course there are some design differences, but there is a difference in the quality of materials - its hard to pinpoint (microbumps?), but that is a very finicky criticism, though if you run those 2 shots together (photo and model) then you are inviting criticisms of their comparisson.

Id hope if I had a reel with a good quality body of work like yours, direction would be a question of how you wanted to express yourself and in which area.

some of the cg live action is weak in the animation area

Inspiring :)

Wiro
05-25-2010, 11:30 AM
Nice reel but I mostly aggree with Kanga. I'm not sure what else to open the reel with than the toy but I'd definitely linger a bit longer on the render before going to the breakdown.