PDA

View Full Version : The Vegas Project

ganzo
05-08-2010, 11:36 AM
Ok here it goes...
I've been working on an aftermath shot of Vegas a la 2012.
I have been working on and off on this shot for a few months now. My goal was to see how far I could push this shot using standard off the shelf tools with limited hard drive space and no render farm support. I want to make it clear that I am aware that when it comes to comp work ...my project sucks. For now 100% of my time has been invested in caching/rendering fluids so I have not been able to work on comp work. Basically right now what I need the most is critique on my smoke/fire elements. Please be very very picky about it since I really want to improve my work on this shot. I will be posting updates on the smokey stuff and hopefully move on to other things like the fault on the background as well as overall comp work.

I know what this forum section is all about ...so please guys....be mean. I really want to work and improve this shot.

My first attempt (http://vimeo.com/10848427) was not that good in my opinion. Deleted all the fluids and environment smoke and almost started from scratch with many of the smokey stuff.

Second Pass (http://vimeo.com/11569475)

Cheers!

leigh
05-08-2010, 02:59 PM
Kudos to you for taking on such a challenging project. The scope of this is obviously pretty huge, but when it's complete, it'll be worth it.

Since you're asking specifically for feedback on the FX elements, I'll ignore the other issues for now. Incidentally, it might be helpful to also post a couple of still renders, possibly also one or two close ups. Even though it's ultimately about the final shot from this angle, looking at close ups and stills can help to pinpoint issues.