PDA

View Full Version : What/how to study anatomy to do decent in manga/anime drawing?

LuCas23332
05-08-2010, 12:08 AM
So i have been studying anatomy but there is so many things to learn about, i'm not even sure if everything is necessary for at least decent manga/anime drawing, since I want to improve on my manga/anime style drawing.

People suggested I should study anatomy and it helps so I am doing that.

I am currently studying from the popular book "Atlast of the human anatomy for the artist" by Stephen Rogers, and I was wondering if some anatomy like bones are even necessary?

I skipped the bones section and am going straight to learning the muscles since it seems like that is more important for improving my manga/anime drawing

Here are the sections:

-Bones
-Muscles
-Surface anatomy (veins/skin/hair/features etc.)
-Proportion
-Equilibrium and Locomotion
-Distinctions of Age, Sex, and Race
-Agents of expression

It seems like I should study and learn all of those sections but bones just doesn't seem like it is mandatory yet, what do you guys think?

edit: ALSO, this might be a silly (but serious) question, but would you say it is mandatory that i should learn and remember every single muscle/bone in the body? I don't really know how professionals learn and draw, so I want to know. Sorry and excuse me for my idiotness ><

Lunatique
05-08-2010, 05:43 AM
I personally do not recommend anatomy books that are too clinical. What artists need are more of an overview of how the body is put together, how the muscles flex in various poses, and the range of motion of the joints. Skeletons are useful in that you can tell why some spots on the body protrude or curves in the way they do, such as the eye sockets, the elbow, the ribcage, the knees, the ankles, the hips...etc. Muscles alone do not tell you that information.