PDA

View Full Version : Problem with fluid sim

avillabon
05-06-2010, 03:19 PM
Im very very new to fluids and im trying to do some rising smoke but I am facing a couple problems..

I get the feeling that the fluid is not reacting correctly to the texturing im applying. Another thing is that i get a few wisps on the sides that dont look good and shouldnt be there. Finally, the fluid only renders correctly with the fluid's built in lighting, when i try to use a directional light with raytraycing on and enable "real lights" it gets washed out.

http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/9413/smoketest.jpg

See attached scene to better understand...

Thanks

Alex

Wick3dParticle
05-06-2010, 04:59 PM
Hi Alex,

I believe that a lot of it has to do with the fact that you are simming a somewhat low res fluid container, while relying mainly on texture for detail. Unfortunately, I am afraid that for a fluid of that proximity to camera; you may want to consider simming it at a much higher resolution. Those little "whispys" are a result of the texture noise "eating" away at your density in less dense areas. I try to sim at a higher scale to res ratio and avoid textures if possible.

Hope that helps,

~Ilan

arkangel-fx
05-06-2010, 05:55 PM
Yep, thats caused by Texture Opacity, you shouldn't use texture with big scale, it will allways eat your fluid. Upress you fuild and remove the texture (wich will also decrease render times).

avillabon
05-06-2010, 06:38 PM
gotcha! thank you both.. I increased from 100 to 250 (base rez) and its looking better.. I'll leave a render overnight at 400 and that should help. Thanks!

Alex

avillabon
05-06-2010, 06:56 PM
Whats wrong with the lighting though....? why cant i use real lights?

Alex

Duncan
05-06-2010, 09:30 PM
For real lights you must enable raytraced shadows on the light to get self shadowing of the fluid( in mental ray... maya sw will self shadow without that being on).

Duncan

avillabon
05-06-2010, 09:35 PM