PDA

View Full Version : Facial bones

JRH
09-12-2003, 02:10 PM
Hi,

I'm new at animation and have been reading threads regarding the advantages of different approaches to facial animation. Right now I'm working in MotionBuilder as my only 3d programme that allows animation and my only option I believe is to use bones to drive groups of vertices (since I don't have the ability to create blendshapes/morph targets.) I've seen a good article on the system used for The Getaway (http://www.3dgate.com/techniques/2001/010709/0709moore_01.html). I haven't been able to find much else specifically on possible skeleton hierarchies for the face and the way different branches would be scaled, translated and/or rotated. Does anybody have any information on this that might be helpful?

Thanks in advance.

JRH

activemotionpictures
09-16-2003, 06:42 PM
IŽll be of good use.

jHromika
09-17-2003, 09:19 PM
Take a look at this link, it also has some useful facial rig information.

http://www.cane-toad.com/tuteRig_Facial.htm

If you're really interested in facial animation, I recomend that you read Jason Osipa's book called Stop Starring: Facial Modeling and Animation Done Right. I found it incredibly helpful as it goes into rich detail in the modeling, riggging, and animation phases. While this book focuses on blend shapes, it does have a section geared towards using joints for those situations blend shapes don't work.

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbnInquiry.asp?userid=2T8C0LIALP&isbn=0782141293&itm=10

I don't have too much to add regarding bone setups. I built one once based on the information from the cane-toad's website, but I never got a chance to skin the character, so I can't really go into much there. :shrug:

Hope you find the links useful though, and good luck.

JRH
09-18-2003, 12:40 AM
Hi,