PDA

View Full Version : 1st Creature Concept Critiques and Tech advice please

jeris82
04-27-2010, 06:08 AM
Hey everyone, thanks for takin the time to check this out ;)

I am still learning Zbrush and this is the first REAL model I did myself from scratch.

I am open to critiques and advice regarding any aspect.

I also have some questions.........

1. How can I add color to this model? I know how to add textures with alphas and make my own with PS, which I have yet to complete but coloring I have no idea where to start with the idea I have.

2. How do I change the material on certain specific parts of the model ?

3. How do I add exterior objects like armor or clothing, if I wanted to ? I have no idea how to make hard edged objects or thin clothing like materials in Zbrush. When I try to add a sphere for an eyeball it just switches the entire image and turns into a sphere, I dont know how to keep the model and ADD the sphere to it.

I DO have maya, photoshop, corel, alchemy, sketchbook, xsi and 3DSmax, if any tips can be offered by using those programs. I am even less familiar with them though as opposed to Zbrush right now.

I am going to make this creature one that lives in a snow desert, where drastic weather changes occur from hot to cold, rapidly. Nesting in caves and underground.

The tail like aspect will be like a tongue with a snake tooth that comes from the center (Not added yet). I was also thinking maybe making it a combination of rattle/scorpion stinger.

The creature also regenerates limbs.

Thank you all. There is so much talent here!

jeris82
04-27-2010, 06:09 AM
Last shot without polyf

ja4161
04-29-2010, 07:16 PM
Your design looks pretty interesting, very insect-like. Some things that I would work on: