PDA

View Full Version : What memory should I buy for CS5


wonky
04-26-2010, 01:24 PM
The big cs5 push is happening soon an I am looking at upping my ram.
Looked a few places online but some vendors did not sell 4gb modules for my mac and some did??
It is a Mac Pro (4core) 1st gen 2007 machine and uses DDR PC2-5300 ram
I would love to max it out with 32Gb but I have the fear that it has a ceiling of 16Gb,

anyone shed some light on this? I have searched for a while and found conflicting info.

Thanks

ddolphinn
04-26-2010, 09:46 PM
wonky, I have 2gb of memeory for CS4 and it runs fine...It all depends on what you use it for, but as a general rule the more memory the better...what are the improvements with CS5...
Bruce

wonky
04-27-2010, 02:23 PM
2gb.....didnt know it would run that low.

I have 8gb and it is garbage, multiprocessor jobs are still looking for more.

ddolphinn
04-27-2010, 11:44 PM
yes, its the bare minimum... but I can still do compositing in 2k pretty well, but it will not run working on 4k footage...

earwax69
05-13-2010, 02:41 AM
Multi-processing in AE is garbage, not your 8gb!

I usually left it off because most of the time it slow my renders more than it speed.

CGTalk Moderation
05-13-2010, 02:41 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.