PDA

View Full Version : lines to paint...or blobs to paint?

vicmonty
04-26-2010, 03:35 AM
I've seen many resources that say to start out a painting with a solid line drawing. I've seen some paintings that have been done without line work. The artist just paints in the figure with the solid broad stokes and further defines the image with smaller strokes. To me, it seems like this makes it twice as hard. You have to define or pull out your subject from nothing while also establishing what the line work would have done for you. I tried this recently. I was inspired to do a figure study. Instead of drawing it in, I decided to try to paint it in and "find" the figure with my strokes. Man, I'm new to painting and my anatomy isn't all that. Seems like I took a few steps back. I did a hand study like this and it turned out fine. Perhaps the larger area of study with the whole figure was too much for me to handle. Does anyone paint without a solid line drawing? This Judith (http://features.cgsociety.org/story_custom.php?story_id=5228) tutorial is a good example. I tried mine in grayscale to keep it simple for me. I'm guessing this is a technique for a seasoned artist huh? Well, I got a head of myself. I was driven by the figure I couldn't help it. I think I'm going to do a a good line on the figure study and try again.

Lunatique
04-27-2010, 07:25 PM
One of the most popular misconception that novice artists have is that drawing and painting are two separate and different things. They are not. When you are painting, you are still drawing--just not with lines but with brushstrokes. Whether you're drawing with lines with painting with brushstrokes, you are still dealing with constantly having to establish and correct proportions, shapes, curves, angles, distances, sizes...etc, and if you screw up the proportion, it doesn't matter if you're dealing with lines or brushstrokes, it's simply just bad drawing.