PDA

View Full Version : Compositing Vray help


UnionAdam
04-23-2010, 12:15 PM
Hey,

I hope this is probably the best place to ask, at the moment struggling with compositing passes together properly, matching the original RGB.

This as close as Ive got it so far, with the matte/shadow removed before rendering.

Passes (http://yfrog.com/4cclose3j)
Layers (http://yfrog.com/esclose4j)

Im using HDR lighting, and reflections which seems like its making it even harder.

alsoI had a look at this (http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/150SP1/examples_renderelements.htm) link and had a a quick go, it seems more suited to node compositors and Im not sure if im doing it right, by adding each comp together (http://yfrog.com/63renderelementsj)

if anyone has any answers or any help at all, would be hugely appreciated, pretty limited compositing passes knowledge to say the least.

thanks.

kazman
04-25-2010, 09:20 PM
Hey, I'm not sure I understand the question. But if you are trying to comp the layers together in AE, try changing the transfer mode on each layer to screen. Maybe that will help.

UnionAdam
04-25-2010, 09:47 PM
thanks for the reply, yeah I have tried that but didn't really seem to help much. Im not sure if its the combination of passes out of vray that Im getting wrong or not.

kazman
04-25-2010, 10:35 PM
Hmm, yeah sorry about that, I just now saw the layers pic you posted. Other than screen / add, etc.. I'm not sure what else you could try. I have tried myself with AE and ended up using nuke to composite together layers because I couldn't figure out how to do it in AE. I think using multiple passes is a must though, for a good realism and control over the image. Somebody else help out if you know.

CGTalk Moderation
04-25-2010, 10:35 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.