PDA

View Full Version : Lighting an outdoor scene

ribrado
04-17-2010, 03:12 AM
I am still learning how to Light a scene properly. I am doing an outdoor scene for a personal project. My scene currently only have diffuse textures (wip), dont have props yet. I am starting to test out the first phrase of the lighting. I added directional light at all sides, top and bottom. As well used a directional light for my Sun direction. Added an ambient Light to soften shadows. But I feel like my shadow and lighting looks abit weird. Any suggestions and critque?

Maya- Mental Ray - raytracing

http://i39.tinypic.com/260wsqu.jpg
http://i43.tinypic.com/zpnqp.jpg

gregsandor
04-17-2010, 08:54 PM
If your interest is the buildings, I'd first knock down the prominence of the sky. The buildings are so dark in comparison, the first thing I see is the contrast between them and that bright blue. Also I'd lower the camera position a meter or two to get closer to a normal point of view. As it is I feel like I'm standing on top of a truck.

ribrado
04-19-2010, 08:28 AM
the bright blue sky was jus the color from the Camera attribute Editor...:D change the color to grey. The camera is lower down.
http://i42.tinypic.com/21dri95.jpg

noouch
04-19-2010, 12:05 PM
Since you're using Maya and Mental Ray, you should have MRSun and MRSky which are based on real measurements of daytime skies and provide great results together with Final Gather.

In your scene, the sun looks like it's a bit high in the sky which takes a bit of depth from your scene. Also, don't be afraid to crank up the intensity a bit more. Ideally it should be high enough so the illuminated bits are barely to the point of blowing out (this depends on your intentions of course, but it helps a bit with the "bright and sunny" feel).

Your shadows should be a bit harder as well, and the sun looks too yellow. What you should be shooting for is a yellow with just enough saturation to counterbalance the blue and make everything white.