PDA

View Full Version : Maya newb: rotate an animated character

jbabler
04-16-2010, 01:10 AM
total newb question:

so I animated something simple with joints, just a guy walking, but I realized he's not facing the z axis as we need him to do... so how do you rotate the mesh and all the bones properly so it doesn't mess everything up??

blackseraphim
04-16-2010, 08:52 AM
your rig should have a master Controller or a root controller (which is the top node in your controller hierarchy)

gonzalimator
04-16-2010, 09:00 AM
You could try to group the entire character, and then rotate the group to change the direction of the walk. If there is a "main" or "master" or "supermover" control that wasn't animated for the walk, then that could be used to turn the character to face the way you want. If the "master" control was animated, then you can look into Maya's redirect animation tool and use it to turn your master control while preserving its animation.

http://download.autodesk.com/us/maya/2011help/index.html?url=./files/CS_Level_Redirect_the_motion_of_an_animated_character.htm,topicNumber=d0e347938

JJChalupnik
04-18-2010, 10:12 AM