PDA

View Full Version : Maya 2010 Translucency

Aekon
04-13-2010, 02:21 PM
hey all. so my 1st post here, weee!

im new to maya and was throw into the fire, right into a production schedule as my company switched from LW to maya. not the best way to be introduced to software. so far iv been making due. we are working on a 6 part tv series. we are close to finishing show 1, but the next show will require some good transluceny to make squid and jelly fish. here is an example image...

http://arnica.csustan.edu/photos/animals/Jelly_Fish1.jpg

so, i have 0 idea of where to start building a shader like this. im assuming one of the fast simple nodes? i poked around in all of them but saw no options for transparency of tranlucency, so im kinda at a dead end here. google searches didnt yeild any results either. i did some good skin for show 1 with the fast simple skin, but im not sure if that will cut it here is at is not actualy transparent, so you can see through it.

so any help at all would be greatly appreciated. maybe some screen shots of shading networks, or links to some tranlucency shaders (i found something called pixho, but i think its very old?).

looking forward to some good wisdom. thanks guys!

Aekon
04-14-2010, 02:05 PM
surely someone must know. 20 views and no one can tell me how to do translucency? or even say its not possible?... or something?

azazel
04-14-2010, 03:38 PM
I worked on a similar shot - jellyfish - and used glossy refractions to achieve this effect. Just that, but modulated by some textures to get variation. Worked in max, using mental ray Arch&Design shader. On the downside, it took forever to render (there were hundreds of them ;) ), and glossy interpolation (which would speed things up considerably) looked very crappy.

There is a mental shader for doing glossy environment map reflections, which is supposedly very fast. Maybe there is something like that for refractions too?