PDA

View Full Version : Best method for creating stiching on seats.

irwit
04-11-2010, 07:51 PM
Hi all

I'm a little new to Modo but have been watching as much how to videos as I can, however the methods I have seen people creating stitching have mainly been texture maps. Although I was impressed with how they are created I don't think that they give enough detail for what I am looking for.

The method I am hoping to create is to somehow duplicate a stitch model across an edge but for every duplicated model apply an image of the bump map I want for the stitch holes on the underlying leather model. Does anyone know if this is possible to both duplicate a model and a texture map across another model?

Or if anyone has any other or better methods of creating stitching would they care to share ?

Thanks for reading and any help would be much appreciated!

mrreynolds
04-12-2010, 01:41 AM
Good method is described and shown in Andy's Sport Shoe tutorial.
He's drawing it with painting tool and then makes bump, as I remember.

StephanePayette
04-12-2010, 05:44 AM
This is a recent tutorial that uses image based scultping and the image ink to create stiches: http://www.luxology.com/training/video.aspx?id=512

mrreynolds
04-12-2010, 02:57 PM
This is a recent tutorial that uses image based scultping and the image ink to create stiches: http://www.luxology.com/training/video.aspx?id=512

yeah, this one is great too, and more fresh. This vidoe was made during his Modo presentations in Germany, as I remember.

irwit
04-12-2010, 03:43 PM
Hi Guys

Thanks for the links, I had checked that one out before however it is just relying on bumps maps which isn't going to cut it for me. I really need to be able to get these stitch's to fill the screen so a combination of bump map and modelled stitching is required, however I need a way to automate the creation of the geometry stitch and the bump map on the underlying leather.

StephanePayette
04-12-2010, 06:43 PM