PDA

View Full Version : Removing Object From Footage


ronyy
04-05-2010, 08:53 PM
I'm working on a project where i need to blow up a clock tower (building)
I recreated the clock model using Autodesk 3ds Max + tracked the motion with boujou.
I just need to figure out how to remove the original clock from the footage so that i can replace it with my 3d model and when its all shattered the clock from the original footage doesn't show up.
The scene is a tilt from bottom to the top of the clock!

I saw somewhere that it can be done through rotoscoping but how to recreate the background image if i removed the clock ? :banghead:
I'm using Adobe After Effects for compositing

The project deadline is soon and ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED! :)

Here is the first frame:
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/0d3995ec9a.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

and the last frame:
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/7de2231390.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

mister3d
04-05-2010, 11:31 PM
You can take the surrounding elements and use them as a cue for building a matte painting for the background. For example you can reuse windows to create a building and stuff. Use your imagination! And then track in into the plate.

rajeshseeni
04-17-2010, 04:27 AM
Hey The Building Right Behind The clockTower Lookes like It is the same in Both directions(Left Part Covered by Clock Tower).

Just Roto the Buildings Right Part And Flip it and Place it in positon So that You have a Complete building.

Roto the Clock Tower and see.You Have the Complete Building Behind it .

And on to the right side of Clock Tower there are Trees Which are continuing inwards into the street So,YOu can add few more trees so that you dont have to create the right side building.

And the rest is up to You.

Hope this gave you a basic Idea.

ronyy
04-17-2010, 11:52 AM
Thank you guys for ur help,

m trying it right now but m still new to the roto thingy.

hope it works.

:wavey:

scrimski
04-17-2010, 12:05 PM
It's probably easier to recreate the area around the clock tower in 3ds Max if you have it tracked anyway.
Align planes so that they match the buildings and use a mix of camera projection and painted/cloned textures.

CGTalk Moderation
04-17-2010, 12:05 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.