PDA

View Full Version : How to launch nonMaxscript utility from maxscript?


kaczorefx
04-02-2010, 07:17 AM
Sorry for double posting but apparently my previous post wasn't clear.
I want to launch one of the builtin (or 3rd party) utilities from the utilities panel.
The utility IS NOT a maxscript utility - if there is any file that can be associated with it, it is a DLO file.

PEN
04-03-2010, 12:12 PM
It would have needed to be exposed to Max script, does it say anything about that in the help?

lo
04-04-2010, 08:29 AM
from the help file:

<integer>UtilityPanel.OpenUtility <class>ClassName

Switches the control panel to the Utility Panel and opens the specified utility.


To get an array of the installed utility classes, use utilityplugin.classes

kaczorefx
04-06-2010, 04:12 PM
Thanks, finally that is just what I need :)

Now a new problem.
I'm able to run all the utilities that I get from utilityplugin.classes except one - the one that I want to (figures ;) )

UtilityPanel.OpenUtility 3D_Vision_viewer

I get an error


-- Compile error: Bad number or time syntax
-- In line: UtilityPanel.OpenUtility 3D_


The spelling of the class should be correct - I copied it from the printed array.
Any ideas, or is there something wrong with the utility?

lo
04-06-2010, 05:50 PM
Is that a native 3dsmax utility? don't see it in my panel..

kaczorefx
04-07-2010, 06:34 AM
No it's not.
But I have a few other non natives and I can run them the same way - this one is the only one with a problem :(

denisT
04-08-2010, 08:53 AM
Thanks, finally that is just what I need :)

Now a new problem.
I'm able to run all the utilities that I get from utilityplugin.classes except one - the one that I want to (figures ;) )

UtilityPanel.OpenUtility 3D_Vision_viewer

I get an error


-- Compile error: Bad number or time syntax
-- In line: UtilityPanel.OpenUtility 3D_


The spelling of the class should be correct - I copied it from the printed array.
Any ideas, or is there something wrong with the utility?

MAX Script doesn't like name (class name) of the utility "3D_Vision_viewer" because it starts with Number. If developers can rename it, the calling of the utility has to work.

PiXeL_MoNKeY
04-08-2010, 04:12 PM
From the maxscript help under Names heading:Quoted NamesNames set in single quotes allow you to write names that contain illegal identifier characters, such as spaces and other punctuation. They are primarily intended for specifying 3ds Max object classes and properties that have special characters in their names.So try this instead:UtilityPanel.OpenUtility '3D_Vision_viewer'-Eric

kaczorefx
04-09-2010, 06:59 AM
And it works.

Once again I bow down before collective knowledge :)

Live free and prosper ...guys.

CGTalk Moderation
04-09-2010, 06:59 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.