PDA

View Full Version : polys, surfaces or subd's?

SegFaultII
09-08-2003, 07:52 AM
hi everyone!
im new in the 3d world and now im learning the basics of 3d, and have a question.
why do so many people use polys or subd-s for modeling and not surfaces? many tutorials are about polys as well. in some demo reels you can see that they are modeled in polys or subd's as well (hiko_ for example).
so, why should i prefer polys and subd's and not surfaces?

thank you

SegFaultII
09-08-2003, 11:54 AM
after searching the forums for ~2 hours i still dont have a good answer to that question, but it seems everything can be modeled in the ways, so it comes down to the artist. :shrug:

correct me if im wrong! :)

(and excuse my bad english...)

Ganimed
09-08-2003, 12:31 PM
The major reason ppl don´t make use of
the NURBS modeling is because texturing can gat very fast to an horrific nightmare.
(Depense on how complex is your model)

Image, you have modeled an character (high res) with the patch-modeling methode.Now you want to start texturing, but your model is build with more that 500 or even 600 patches.So give it a try to texture now.

First of all, it will take much longer to model seamlessly in patches rather than model in poly´s or subdee´s.Solid modeling is allways i faster way to produce an output. And it´s not so difficult.

To me, patch modeling is one of my favorite used techniques.(I´m a litte masochist:D )

So choose what´s best for you.!!

Ganimed
09-08-2003, 12:35 PM
Ooohh boy,:hmm:

i have to polish up my english :surprised

regards

Ganimed

SegFaultII
09-08-2003, 01:19 PM
das nächste mal frage ich auf deutsch und englisch :D
oder ich änder einfach meine signatur :)

Ganimed
09-08-2003, 01:41 PM
You see, that´s why it´s important to enter your location in your profile.You never know who you meet.

But it´s easier for all, to exchange in just
one common language.And for me it´s a
good place to improve my english.

kind regards from Köln (Cologne)

Ganimed

ray