PDA

View Full Version : Drift Car Rig Tutorials ?

KIIIA
03-31-2010, 10:50 PM
Hello,

for the new semester at university i have started a car chase animated short featuring two supercars speeding through a city!
Now im looking desperately for some car rigging tutorials! The final cars should be able to follow a path and have drift control!
I have some experience in rigging biped chars, but no experience in car rigging and so i dont really have a starting point?
Is vehicle rigging in general completely bone free?

You see, some Tutorials are greatly appreciated ! ;)
Thanks in advance!

Darksuit
04-02-2010, 09:24 PM
You can certainly make the cars bone free.
You can also make a car rig that is really really simple too..

Global control
-Car_Mesh
--Wheel1
--Wheel2
--Wheel3
--Wheel4

Using Set driven keys to control the rotations on the wheels. This would be one of the most basic rigs you could do for a car. You would just want to make sure your rotaiton axis is centered to the inside of the wheel so that it would be pivoting and spinning from the right spot.

Just do two set driven keys for each wheel one for forward and backward spin and the other for the side to side. Then you could put the control for the wheel spins on the global control.

You can certainly get more complex that this. But as I said this is a pretty basic rig without knowing too much about the demands that you are going to need for your animation.

KIIIA
04-03-2010, 12:39 AM
The demands of the rig for this production are mainly:

A realistic base that on top offers all neccessary possibilities for exageration (Drifts, Jumps etc).
&
These conditions must apply to a car that follows a motion path.

I want to have all the car animation following a path and tweak in drifts etc.