PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic 3d View Menu 2.5 (script)


Meta-Androcto
03-31-2010, 01:30 AM
hi,
A small team & I have written a Basic Menu for the 3d view.

Get the script here:
Dynamic Menu (http://cdupload.com/files/127249_ggz4v/space_view3d_dynamic_menu.py)

To install the script, you should get a recent version of Blender.
You can do that here:
Graphicall (http://graphicall.org/builds/index.php)
These Builds or Versions of Blender are further developed than Blender Alpha2.
You can of course, use Blender alpha 2.

Installation:
Paste the script into the folder .blender/scripts/addons.
(in Blenders folder directory.)

In Blender, open the User Preferences window.
Press the Add-Ons button then enable the script.
Now you can run the script as follows:
Single Select click (right by default) in an empty space in the 3d view.
That is: not on an object, in a empty area in the 3d viewport.

Object Mode Menu:
http://cdupload.com/files/127251_6rjha/object%20mode.jpg

If you press "Toggle Editmode"
you will change to Edit Mode & get a new menu!

Edit Mode Menu:
http://cdupload.com/files/127250_ezlyz/edit%20mode.jpg

This Menu is designed for quick access to some common tools.
It's not a replacement for other menu's, it's a 'helper'.

You can do many basic things in these menu's.
Some hotkeys are listed, but not all. you can use this menu to get a quick overview of tools, then use Blenders Built in menu's for more advanced work.

Known issues.
You can change select to Left click in user preferences/input.
this is fine.
Custom keymaps may disable the script.

Enjoy

paulhart
03-31-2010, 02:42 AM
Works superbly, as noted. I swap the preferences to have the left mouse button select, for ease of moving between Blender and other apps, and as noted, this script works with this preference also. Some of the fine development going on the Alpha2 branch. Thank you Meta-Androcto
Paul

DanielWray
04-01-2010, 12:24 AM
Thank you so much, please pass on my thanks to the rest of the team as well.

I'll be using this in my work flow from now on, It really speeds things up :) :) :bounce:

fktt
04-01-2010, 12:48 AM
Guess the extra buttons(4, 5) on my mouse now have a proper use! \o/

/thanks. :)

mib2berlin
04-01-2010, 12:53 AM
Hey, this is very nice and helpfull. :thumbsup:

THX, mib

Meta-Androcto
04-01-2010, 07:22 PM
Thanks for the positive feedback.
This script should be in Blender default add ons folder/menu after Easter.
enjoy.

phoenixart
04-02-2010, 06:19 AM
Meta-Adrocto,

this is simply amazing, great script indeed!
Hope will be bundled by the default.

fktt
04-17-2010, 05:47 PM
Hey Brendon, I don't seem to get this to work,
followed your instructions precisely,
but right-clicking in empty space does nothing.


Also, would it be possible to use my mouses 5th (mouse 5) button to initiate this menu? :)

Meta-Androcto
04-17-2010, 06:18 PM
hi Felix,
sorry your having problems.
right click or select click in the 3d view if you changed your keymaps.
what version of blender do you use?
the script is in svn now, recent graphicall builds have it.
also a surprise.
after rev28245,
you can enable the spacebar menu again. ;)
(custom extended Dynamic Menu)
drop into irc #blenderpython if you are still having problems.
thanks.
Brendon.

CGTalk Moderation
04-17-2010, 06:18 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.