PDA

View Full Version : A probably simple Python question...

surreal-reality
03-23-2010, 10:08 PM
ok, I'm kind of new to this level of scripting, and I'm just not really sure of the proper syntax required to do what I'm envisioning..

I have a variable:
arrayNC = 0
then I turn it into a string:
arrayNameInt = str(arrayNC)
then I concatenate it with a prefix, to get a name, that has an incrementally increasing end number(for use in a loop, and creating multiple objects etc.):
arrayNameFull = "arrayOfFloats_" + arrayNameInt
the resulting string looks like:
arrayOfFloats_0, arrayOfFloats_1, arrayOfFloats_2, etc etc etc.

The next part is where I get stuck, I want to take the string : "arrayOfFloats_0" and make it the name of a list.

What would be the best way to do this, so that I can say, store an xyz coord into the list?

My next problem, is when I try and use:
cmds.pointPosition( 'pPlane2.vtx[arrayNC]' )
I know that the vtx part wants an int in the []'s, but I want to use the above variable: "arrayNC = 0" as the vertex number I use.
I am totally lost as to how to do this part too! Putting the variable directly in the []'s seems to not work for me, I'm sure this is something simple.. Thanks!

NaughtyNathan
03-23-2010, 10:45 PM
you probably want a python dictionary for this kind of thing. You don't need to generate a list of names then make them into arrays (python calls them lists) you simply create it all in one go as a dictionary.

e.g.

myDict = {}

for i in range(10): # make 10 "arrays" of floats
name = 'arrayoffloats_%d' % i
myDict[name] = [0.0, 1.0, -6.5, 8.9, 0.6] # basically, generate your array content here, now

then:
print myDict['arrayoffloats_3'] # print array 3

this is a very quick example, check out the python docs for dictionaries.

as for referencing variables in strings.. the % syntax is the basic way to do it:

cmds.pointPosition( 'pPlane2.vtx[%d]' % arrayNC )

:nathaN

moonangel
03-23-2010, 10:50 PM