PDA

View Full Version : Thesis in Graphics!

Razzmonid
09-06-2003, 01:56 AM
Hi, I'm quite new here <n00b> I'm just starting to read the posts, anyway I'm a university student in search of a thesis subject, in of course the most exciting topic in the computer universe, 3Dgraphics! :wavey:

Anyway can you guys help me out on whatz the hottest craze/challenge/technical hurdles out there that can make a good thesis topic? Something like raytracing on Programmble graphics hardware...Shadows/Lighting Algorithms... newEngineEnhancements that may make a more realistic rendering ala FinalFantasy!

Like anything that may interest you if given the chance to have a dissertation/Research on a specific field in the 3D graphics arena. May it be hardware/architecture or in the software rendering techniques/mathematical optimization algorithms...

Appreciate your help, Thanks! =)
:thumbsup:

Razzmonid
09-06-2003, 02:56 AM
Also some ideas that can be posted in a scientific 3dGraphics journal, with some very technical aspects that Tim Sweeney and John Carmack may even regard as interesting stuffs will do... something that may paved way for some other students out there interested in doing some Techie Graphix stuffs!

Just any related idea will do but I challenged everyone with their creative talents to really come up with some great and fascinating ideas!

-Thanks! =)

:thumbsup:

EvilBasterd
09-08-2003, 10:43 AM
Well you should learn things in the following order:

- Basic 3D mathmetics (rotation, translation
- wireframe drawing
- poly filling
- texturing
- viewport/camera programming

that was the basic stuff :P

now the more complicated stuff:

- subdivision modelling
- advanced shaders ( A must for photorealistic rendering!)
- NURBS
- Physics engines (gravity and other dynamics)
- (Advanced) particle systems (For the effects part of it)
- (Advanced) Ray tracing (For sharp realistic shadows)
- Shadow maps (For soft shadows)
- Global Illumination (adds very much realism to a scene)