PDA

View Full Version : AE 5.5 - Should I Purchase?


BUZZFX
03-20-2010, 08:42 PM
Hi, I have a chance to buy After Effects 5.5 for a good price, but I am not sure if it's too old. I don't think Adobe will upgrade from 5.5. Has anyone used 5.5 and how is it different than AE CS4?



pg

scrimski
03-20-2010, 09:47 PM
Don't.
Apart from all the particle stuff it completely lacks 3D abilities(if I remember right).

ToddKopriva
03-21-2010, 03:47 AM
> how is it different than AE CS4?


A full answer to that would take ~100 pages. No kidding.

BUZZFX
03-21-2010, 04:06 AM
A full answer to that would take ~100 pages. No kidding.
Thanks everyone.

Does 5.5 work similar to the current version though. I mean are the way it works with image sequences, text and other graphics basically the same?

I have a friend who has a fully unregistered version and he has no interest in art of graphics. He will sell it to me for $50 - $75. I just need it mostly for compositing image sequences. Does anyone know if it compresses video into QT files just as good as the current versions?



pg

Mylenium
03-21-2010, 11:18 AM
- won't run on Win Vista/ Win 7
- severe problems with newer versions of QT
- no floating point support
- no text layers
- no shape layers
- no support for a ton of input and output formats, including OpenEXR, and all the fancy MPEG stuff one uses these days
- no Keylight
- no Color Finesse
- no CC effects

Need I go on? It has a 3D space and the basic operations are the same as in current versions, but you will end up being very frustrated at some point because you won't even be able to follow some simple tutorials. Strikes me as somewhat pointless to even bother installing it. At best, you could see it as a demo version that never expires and do simple projects for your own pleasure, but I doubt you can seriously get any client work with it done. Due to the limitations mentioned above, you simply won't be able to satisfy today's requirements for HD work and will not be able to deliver specific formats.

Mylenium

PureFX
03-22-2010, 10:07 AM
Difference between AE 5.5 and CS4 is like a difference between Windows Paint and Photoshop. You can do better than that =).

evanfotis
03-22-2010, 03:48 PM
Have not tried 5.5 on either vista or win7... If it does not run, game over.
If however you are still using XP or another OS that will support AE5.5 pro, for 50bucks I'd get it.
I certainly cannot disagree with above gurus or AE team on the vast gap in options between Cs4 and 5.5.
But I can also not forget that great stuff has been made using AE5.5 toolset alone, both mograph and compositing...
If you are starting, and want to explore the basic principles it is still great imho.

BUZZFX
03-22-2010, 04:47 PM
Ok, thanks everyone.

CGTalk Moderation
03-22-2010, 04:47 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.