PDA

View Full Version : Ecosystem to polygons


Vedrica
03-19-2010, 12:13 AM
How to convert ecosystem to polys? Bake to polygons option is muted.

nPellegrino
03-20-2010, 07:12 AM
use the ecosystem selector tool (if in xstream you will need to use the standalone for this.)

Select the ecosystem with the selector, use select all if you want everything.
Then use the manipulate drop down in the selector menu and convert ecosystem to objects.

Vedrica
03-20-2010, 07:26 PM
use the ecosystem selector tool (if in xstream you will need to use the standalone for this.)

Select the ecosystem with the selector, use select all if you want everything.
Then use the manipulate drop down in the selector menu and convert ecosystem to objects.

U mean convert to objects option? I press that and nothing happens...

Edit: I made it. I had to select the instance from edit menu. Now it works. Thanks for reply.

Cheers

Vedrica
03-20-2010, 07:50 PM
When i export i have holes in object. Why is that? Can i export it as it is (not to change mesh resolution)?

Edit: I see that textures in vue have some displacement. When i import in Maya, there are no displacement and i have mishmash poly...

nPellegrino
03-22-2010, 08:57 PM
you may need to use a different file format, they all produce different results. in the end you may need to do a little uv clean up.
also try poly baking some of the troubled objects in vue before the export and see if that works.

Vedrica
03-22-2010, 10:41 PM
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/922/baobabwire.th.jpg (http://img535.imageshack.us/i/baobabwire.jpg/)

This is baobab obj exporteded and loaded in Maya. Geometry is pretty messed up. Is that normal?

http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/3508/baobabclr.th.jpg (http://img202.imageshack.us/i/baobabclr.jpg/)

This is render. The UV on that spot is fine and have texture.


I have two more question. When i make infinite terrain, i don't see the ground in Maya. What is procedure to animate characters on that ground, since Vue cannot import Maya nor FBX format with baked animation... Second question is how to enable final gather in Maya when the Vue scene is activated? Maybe is something similalr to Lightwave? Thank you for your time.

Regards,
Vedran

nPellegrino
03-23-2010, 07:27 PM
yeah that is kind of normal for that plant. its based on the cherry tree, which has a lot of polygon problems on the trunk.
the cherry tree is one of the original plants of vue, not great for close-ups.

Vedrica
03-27-2010, 04:12 PM
yeah that is kind of normal for that plant. its based on the cherry tree, which has a lot of polygon problems on the trunk.
the cherry tree is one of the original plants of vue, not great for close-ups.

Ok. I'll try some other tree. Thank you for your time.

Cheers,
Vedran

CGTalk Moderation
03-27-2010, 04:12 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.