PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic Chains, and lots of em

hellspawned
03-18-2010, 11:21 PM
Hey!

I just started working on an old laid-off project, a chaos space marine commander. Once I've done all the detailing, the plan is to make it fully animated.

So, as you see in the picture below, one of the shoulderpads has these chains on it, and they will need to move in a dynamic way.

I tried, just to make sure, and I was pretty sure it wouldn't work, to just make the whole thing into one active rigid body sim, and it nearly lagged stuck on my computer (which is pretty beefed up). Clearly it's too heavy for any home computer to calculate, at least in one big chunk, with default settings.

So my question is, what's the best way to go about this? How do i streamline the simulation? Just to clarify, I'm nearly a complete novice on dynamic simulation, so thorough tutorials or thorough advice would be appreciated!

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/9441/chaosshoulderpads.jpg (http://img411.imageshack.us/i/chaosshoulderpads.jpg/)

Aikiman
03-18-2010, 11:40 PM
Have you tried nCloth?

hellspawned
03-19-2010, 12:28 AM
And here comes the part where my novice knowledge of dynamics in general requires "Thorough Answers".

To answer your question directly: Yes, I've fiddled with it, made tablecloths and a flags. But I'm guessing you don't mean "Have i tried nCloth" in the literal sense. So please, elaborate what you mean.

As i said in my original post, the only thing I've tried with this project is to make every link an active rigid body, and that worked out as described in the thread start - Not all that good.

I'm sure, in theory, it would work splendidly if I had a whole bunch of computers just crunching the dynamics simulation, but i don't. Single-computer solutions please :P

FluidEdge
03-19-2010, 12:41 AM
I'd go with either a better rigid body engine - PhysX or Bullet or drive this with a hair curve and an IK chain.

Aikiman
03-19-2010, 12:50 AM