PDA

View Full Version : Exporting Painted Plants

shongu
03-18-2010, 08:53 PM
So I'm very new to vue, but my job needs me to create and export a desert scene with a few plants and rocks for use in 3DS Max. I created a texture using a desert and stone layer, then I painted on 2 different grasses, a busy and stones using the ecosystem type under the advanced material editor. I finally have it the way I want it to look. I exported it using the scene export, but it continued to crash at the quality level I needed. I then decided to do it piece by piece. I went to export my main terrain, the one that has the grass/bush/rock painted texture and when it gets to 3DS max it has none of plants I put on there.

Is there a certain exporting setting that needs to be use? I read something about baking the textures to terrain, but that only caused it to make the plants disapear in vue.

Any advice?

Wabe
03-19-2010, 07:04 AM
Direct to the right of the ecopainter icon you see another one - that let you manipulate the ecosystems. You there select the plants you want to convert and then select convert to objects that you find under "manipulate" in the same editor, just a bit lower.

But be careful, it means the benefits of ecosystems - instances and not "real" objects got lost so you can easily run into memory problems.

shongu
03-19-2010, 03:57 PM
That seems to be working, but sadly the computer doesn't seem to be able to handle it. It freezes up and goes to not responding every time I try. One of my co workers recommended that maybe it's not that the plants aren't being sent over but that the textures aren't being applied like they should be. Could that have anything to do with it? If so is there a certain image file that is the painted on leaves?

Is there any recommendation to slowly convert each individual plannt instead of converting all 200000 at once?

Wabe
03-19-2010, 04:03 PM