PDA

View Full Version : I lose texture when Export to .3ds


KYLESTYLE
03-18-2010, 05:52 AM
Heres my problem,

I imported an .obj into 3dmax with a texture no problem. However when i exported to a .3ds, and reopened it, the texture is missing. I have both the file and texture in the same folder as well as both names are under 8 characters. I do not know 3dmax thatwell but i really need this file to be a 3ds file. Please Help!!!

-K

opwqoo
03-18-2010, 02:03 PM
I run into this problem before, so maybe could help you a little bit.

Make sure texture file need to be saved in same folder, as you already did.
And name of file better not longer than 8 letters.
There comes trick part, if you try to render the scene, an error pop out asking for missing texture.
Go to "Customize" - "configure user paths" - "external files" Tab, add the path of folder .3ds file saved.
It will appear in render.

CGTalk Moderation
03-18-2010, 02:03 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.