PDA

View Full Version : concept art = blank canvas...

vicmonty
03-17-2010, 01:29 AM
What do concept artist do when they're stuck?
I've been trying to draw things other than what I'm studying. I've been studying anatomy lately so everything I've been drawing has been anatomy related. A post or two ago I asked something along the lines if it's wise to venture into other areas of art at one time. Lunatique's suggestion really got me in a great direction. He suggested taking my comic book script as a chance to explore the other areas in art that I am interested in. Taking it step by step. Character design for one. Learn the character, and develop him. Take this oppurtunity to work on my figure drawing, and costume designing and painting the finished concepts. Even produce a finished illustration from the concepts for each character. Then develop the enviroments and everything in it. Endless oppurtunities like he said. Well, I have been doing concepts of the main character and I stink at designing characters! I drew a front/side view, and various positions. Now I'm trying to design his look and I'm just stuck. Baisically I feel like whatever I come up with is not good enough. I'm thinking "what will make him different?". I wanted to know what other artist have done in the past or present while going through this. Should I move on to something else? It's very frustrating because being so crtical of myself is keeping me from moving on. Thanks.

Mr. D
03-18-2010, 09:35 PM
Hello