PDA

View Full Version : Displacement Problem


Alpert
03-16-2010, 03:36 PM
hi,

i have problems dispalying displacement maps in maya. here is my workflow (Maya 2009 and Zbrush 3.5)

1. I created a tree mesh in Maya and unwrapped the UV's.

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/53/83051141.jpg (http://img189.imageshack.us/i/83051141.jpg/)

2.Import to Zbrush, sculpt details and create a 2048x2048 displacement map from SDiv1 with these settings:

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/7011/75328341.jpg (http://img23.imageshack.us/i/75328341.jpg/)

(Although Adaptive is unchecked in the image, I always have it checked. Just for the demonstration purposes, i forgot to check it.)

I convert the .tif then to .map format.

3.Export Sdiv1 mesh as an Obj and import to Maya. Turn off Feature Displacement, create mental raydisplaceapprox1 and set N divisions to 4, then new shader, plug in a displacement nodea and from there a filenode with the .map texture. after that, in the file node attributes, i go to color balance, and change Alpha Gain to 2.2 and Alpha Offset to -1.1. then, I smooth mesh my object (division levels 2, continuety 1) and click render. this is how it looks:

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/1724/67335582.jpg (http://img35.imageshack.us/i/67335582.jpg/)


Of course, since my model has to different UV areas, i created two displacement maps and two different shaders and applied each to the corresponding faces.

What did I do wrong?

RichardMarklew
03-16-2010, 07:00 PM
For a 32bit displacement map try an alpha gain of 1 and an alpha offset of -5

Richard

CGTalk Moderation
03-16-2010, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.