PDA

View Full Version : Is Toxik worth learning?

DimensionalPunk
03-16-2010, 06:28 AM
I'm a hobbyist who uses Maya a lot and I want to learn node based compositing. Now that Maya comes with Toxik I've been playing around with it. But is it a program worth learning? Will it be around in a few years? What are it's limitations? Will the knowledge transfer to Nuke or other compositors? What do you think? Is it worth it to learn Toxik in depth just because it comes free with Maya?

AmbroseMcduffy
03-16-2010, 04:53 PM
I think nuke is much like Toxik, but yea I would like to know this too.

mister3d
03-16-2010, 07:14 PM
You must know what you want, whether plugins you are planning to purchase support toxic, or the places you are planning to work accept compositors working in toxik. I'm very curious to look at it as it comes with max.

ArchDragon
07-05-2010, 02:29 AM
Depends what you want exactly. I've been considering using Toxik/Maya composite for my purposes but just found out it has no audio support. For me that renders it pretty much useless :(

DoubleSupercool
07-05-2010, 05:26 AM
I think it is incredibly handy to a have a high level node based compositor included in the Maya package now, especially for smaller studios who don't need to purchase a separate app like Nuke.

The fact is: Nuke is now the standard for high-end film and TV visual effects. Nothing else comes close in terms of widespread industry/studio use.

The goods news is that if you learn the "mindset" of node based compositing, the transfer between applications is *much* more straightforward than for 3D applications. If you understand the process and why you are doing something, you generally just have to work out what the new app calls the same/similar process.

sundialsvc4
07-09-2010, 03:40 AM