PDA

View Full Version : lighting still images


andalusian
03-15-2010, 11:08 PM
I'm looking for the most efficent way to light some exteriors and prop game models for my portfolio. I'm going to be making some changes to this model and want it to look its best :)

http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/4297/houseturnaroundtiny.jpg (http://img690.imageshack.us/i/houseturnaroundtiny.jpg/)

Currently, I'm using the default scanline renderer. I have 3 target spots, two have the shadows turned off.

scrimski
03-16-2010, 02:34 AM
Add a skylight for soft shadows with an HDR map for the window reflections.
It's OK so far, what look are you after.

timdavis
03-16-2010, 01:52 PM
what software are you using?

mister3d
03-16-2010, 03:49 PM
I think it already looks good, maybe except the door (too bright).
My opinion you should show what you can do well. if you are great modeler but a bad texturer, show only gray-shaded models, don't spoil it with shitty textures. If you can texture well, add it too. If you can't light well, don't bother with it and make a simple setup. The rules are simple: soft shadows, no totally black shadows and don't place your lights right where the camera is, it's better somewhere from the side. 3\4 is a good lighting position, which means simply put one main light somewhere between 45 and 90 degree from the camera and not at the same height as camera. It's needed to make the form look good and not flat. And then the second just to fill the black shadow, making it more transparent. Also don't make light so bright to blow-out your textures.

kanooshka
03-18-2010, 01:44 AM
Good work! One thing that I think would help with the lighting is some more shaping with the light. Try to have each facing angle have a distinctive difference in brightness. I've done a quick paint-over to illustrate an example at the end of the post. Try to make the different faces of the house really pop out and give the image depth.

Another suggestion would be to take the lights that aren't casting shadows, do a separate render pass of those and then multiply them by an occlusion render. This should solve issues like the wall underneath the porch roof being the same brightness as the wall above the porch roof. Keep it up!

http://www.dockay.com/CGTalk/help/house_RenderPaintover.jpg

CGTalk Moderation
03-18-2010, 01:44 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.